Faculty Sketch

Thomas L. Christenbery, PhD, RN, CNE

Associate Professor
Director of Program Evaluation


Current Research Interests

  • Men’s Health
  • Chronic Lung Disease
  • Learning Outcomes

Representative Publications

Christenbery, T. L. (2010). Manuscript peer review: A guide for advanced practice nurses. Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners.

Christenbery, T. L., & Miller, M. (2008, April). A strategy for learning principles and elements of informed consent. Nurse Educator, 33(2), 75-78.

Christenbery, T. L. (2007). Patients "kick the habit" with nurses' help. Men in Nursing, 2(2), 15-21.

Christenbery, T. L. (2005). Dyspnea self-management strategies: Use and effectiveness as reported by COPD patients. Heart and Lung. 34(6), 406-414.

Silverstri, L. A., et al. (2002). Saunders review for NCLEX-RN. Philadelphia: Saunders


Heart and Lung (2010-2012)

Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (2010-2012)

Professional Research


Chair, Nursing Research Committee, Vanderbilt University Medical Center


Scientific Advisory Panel, TN Men’s Health Report Card


Self-Appraisal of the Evidence-Based Fellowship Program, PI



2004  PhD Vanderbilt University (Nursing Science)
(Dissertation:  Mental Representations as Determinants of Coping Interventions and Appraisal for Individuals with COPD)
1987 MSN Vanderbilt University (Nursing Administration)
1976 BSN Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky

Representative Publications

Penson, D, Campbell, F. J., Christenbery, T., Cummings, J. Dalle-Ave, M., Davis, R., et.al.. (2012).  Tennessee men’s health report card.  Http://tnmenshealthreportcard.vanderbilt.edu

Christenbery, T. L. (2012).  Preparing BSN students for the doctor of nursing practice (DNP) application process: The faculty role.  Nurse Educator, 37(1), 30-25.

Christenbery, T. L. (2011).  Building a schematic model:  A blueprint for DNP students.  Nurse Educator, 36(6), 250-255.

Professional Affiliations

Sigma Theta Tau
American Assembly of Men in Nursing


2012       President, IOTA Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau
2012       Faculty Sponsor, American Assembly of Men in Nursing
2010       Ingeborg Mauksch Award for Mentorship
2009       Sara K. Archer Award for Outstanding Contributions in Teaching Scholarliness
2007       Excellence in Teaching Award for Educational Innovation